FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION SRI LANKA

For press freedom by Sunanda Deshapriya

To:Media minister honorable Keheliya Rambukwella & the former Media minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana

Sandya - fighting for the justice for her partner Prageeth

Sandya ekneligoda,
#136/2,
Suhda mawatha,
Hiripitiya,
Pannipitiya

13.12.2010

I am Sandya Ekneligoda, the wife of the journalist Prageeth Ekneligoda who had been disappeared on the 24th of january 2010. I am mother of two sons Sathyajith Sanjaya & Harith Danajaya. Without any news about my husband, 322 days have being passed until today 13.12.2010

two things can be pointed out when I look back. To mention one, on 10th Feb 2010, at meeting to present cabinet discussion the former media minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana has said information about Prageeth would be given during the coming week. Even though 300 days have passed after that statement any information nor answer was received (The document is attached bout this statement)

On 7th of May at the supreme parliament minister Keheliya Rambukwella stated that he will involve in this matter personally. I am unaware about your participation when 220 days have passed since the day you made this statement.

In the process of education far a child the most important point is the Ordinary Level Examination. Like most of the children especially as sons you must have experienced the courage you received a the moment: through your father’s words. His blessing must have given you the strength.

Unfortunately our elder son Sanjaya embraced his father’s memories while his eyes were moistened with tears at the moment of leaving for examination.

I wish that if you felt you should let my receive the blessing of his father, which you experienced when you were in his age.

Our second son has now become mentally depressed through the suffering from the dark memories of the deprivation of the father.

Can you tell me when will my children’s suffering come to an end?

I have seen how kiribath was cooked and wasted all over the country .can you tell me when can I prepare a dish of kiribath in my house which is in fire since 24.01.2010. when will we be able to sleep peacefully.

My only hope is to hear the voice of my sons calling thaththa in front of live Prageeth.

I expect a reply as soon as possible .

………………………
Sandya Ekneligoda

(This is a translation of letter written to the particular minsters by Sandya Ekneligoda)

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2011 by in news and tagged , , , , , , .
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

