FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION SRI LANKA

For press freedom by Sunanda Deshapriya

Celebrating Freedom: A Personal Account

Harsha De Silva

by Harsha de Silva, Ph.D

I am generally not the street-protesting type. I try to articulate my arguments with facts and figures, be it writing, speaking or engaging in debate. But the other day, I was in a demonstration and this is an account of what happened; the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth…..

I remember quite well moments before the attack. I was a little ahead of the main group. Our vociferous parliamentary colleague Dayasiri Jayasekera was leading the slogans.

Suddenly, we heard people screaming and then I heard shots. Someone said we were being shot at; perhaps they were rubber bullets that were coming our way, I don’t know. Then it was like a hail storm. Rocks, Molotov cocktails, cement blocks and all kinds of objects were being thrown at us. In seconds thugs appeared with iron rods, poles and started assaulting people and smashing up vehicles. Everyone started to run helter skeltor. The police continued to observe the scene but did not do a thing. Perhaps the higher ups did the same from the CCTV headquarters. I heard voices of thugs asking for our blood.

READ THE FULL STORY HERE

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
