FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION SRI LANKA

For press freedom by Sunanda Deshapriya

The Complaint made to Police on Saturday 22nd Oct 2011 @ about 11.00 am by Shan Wickramasinghe .

I, Shanthilal Nilkanth Wickremesinghe aged 63 Sinhala Buddhist, Chairman – TNL TV residing at Dampe, Piliyandala.

I wish to state me and my Director / General Manager Mr. Sudath Jayasundara has been conducting “Puwathpath Sirasthala” program on Isira Radio for the past few years. This is a live program which discusses the current affairs published in daily newspapers from 7:00am onwards. During the past weeks we discussed about the collapse of the Stock Market which has been the best among South Asian countries. At the same time we were compelled to discuss the issue regarding the collapse of the Drug Market and its mafia. Several Newspapers said that the stock market was related to the drug mafia where the money is circulated and both had a significant drop due to drugs. The Stock Market has also being unable to recover and has caused this to financial collapse.

Thereafter. Last Friday (21st ) we discussed the meeting held at a Five star Hotel about the Stock Market and the involvement of Duminda Silva, M.P. and Dilith Jayaweera and the manipulation of the market. Mr. Jayaweera has also been under investigations regarding the Stock exchange. Thereafter, Mr. Sudath Jayasundara received a call from Dilith Jayaweerain the morning in a threatening manner. I too received a call in the morning from Mr. Madhava Perera, CEO of Power House Company belonging to Mr. Dilith Jayaweera regarding this matter and why we called him “ Kudukaaraya” ? At around 1:00pm I got a call which showed it has originated from abroad. However, I cut the line off as it was an unknown party and I do not get foreign calls at that time. Thereafter, until 2:00am next morning I got more than 25 calls from the same number. That evening my daughter, who is in Italy phoned me and said that Mrs. Waruni Fernando (nee Amunugama) has threatened me and Mr. Sudath Jayasundara and that if we continue this program we will not see the day light and requested her to stop it. There were several calls from Waruni Amunugama to my Sister in Colombo, saying that she is going to sue us and had said some nasty things.

Therefore, I wish to make a statement for future reference.

The receipt by the Police-Reference no: 19f966c837V550255354.
LNW

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2011 by in news and tagged , , , , .
October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates

